What does someone with a PhD in Linguistics do?

2019/05/26. - írta: Vitzus

Azért egy pillanatra ilyenkor mindig pánikba esik az ember, mert maga sem tudja, és nagggyon nincs erre egyszerű válasz. De véletlen olyan jó valamit rittyentettem erre össze a Slowly-ban, hogy muszáj idemásolnom.

Now someone with a PhD in Linguistics could be first of all a researcher of Linguistics for example at some academy of science, who goes on fieldworks, reads and writes publications, works with workgroups on developing something (applied linguistics) like a new curriculum or study programme, and also teaching at the university. I am not really considering this option because starting university professors/teacher assistants get a really shitty salary, the starting is around the salary of a hypermarket worker – first-hand info. So yeah, thanks, no thanks. But aside from that, there is, unfortunately, no clear career path, there is no one or two defined jobs. 
Someone in Linguistics could be useful in anything related to communication or language – multilingual offices, ministries of education or culture, translating-interpreting, or if someone has an extra skill like Computer Science then Computational linguistics... This field really interests me but I never had any CS education and I don't feel smart enough for it, but going into Python, data analysis and NLP would be so fascinating! NLP is natural language processing which is then used in artificial intelligence development – those machines need to speak and react, after all! I guess that is the future and when I graduate, I will try to see if Python is something I could learn or not. Also what is needed more and more are SEO writers, content writers, copywriters, technical writers, proofreaders – so basically working with texts.
I have been also thinking about founding my own company but no one is an entrepreneur in my family or immediate surroundings so I think I would actually fail, because I am not sure I have what it takes to be an entrepreneur – but here's my vision: something like a "Language aid" company, that offers services like proofreading texts, helping to write developers or entrepreneurs good texts and content for their website, helping in translation and language tutoring – of course I wouldn't be doing this all by myself, I would have my trusted clients who are tutors and translators and I would also work on connecting them with the buyers, but I would also offer my own services.
Or a multilingual personal or virtual assistant is also something I could imagine. This idea came when last year's client whom I helped with an SOS Finnish interpreting wrote to me again this year that he would be coming to Hungary again and would need my help. He wants to buy a house and he would want to check out several properties also in real life. But first I actually had to schedule the meetings myself and basically set up an itinerary with him for addresses, phone numbers and times of visit. And also learn vocabulary for property sales in the meantime. It was actually fun! And I guess there are many people who need to run their business or do things in several countries and languages at the same time, and they probably wouldn't want to have several assistants, interpreters, but would be cool to have an all in one - and since I'm a polyglot I could help in at least 4 languages... But I don't yet know how big the market for this is.... 
screenshot_20190526-130910.jpg
Szólj hozzá!

A bejegyzés trackback címe:

https://vicus.blog.hu/api/trackback/id/tr8214862434

Kommentek:

A hozzászólások a vonatkozó jogszabályok  értelmében felhasználói tartalomnak minősülnek, értük a szolgáltatás technikai  üzemeltetője semmilyen felelősséget nem vállal, azokat nem ellenőrzi. Kifogás esetén forduljon a blog szerkesztőjéhez. Részletek a  Felhasználási feltételekben és az adatvédelmi tájékoztatóban.

Nincsenek hozzászólások.
süti beállítások módosítása